KCH assistant professor Citlali Lopez-Ortiz gets appointment to Center for Advanced Study

Citali Lopez-Ortiz

Dr. Citlali Lopez-Ortiz, an assistant professor in the Kinesiology and Community Health Department at the College of Applied Health Sciences, has received an appointment to Illinois' Center for Advanced Study (CAS).

Dr. Lopez-Ortiz’s appointment is for the 2019-20 academic year. She joined Illinois in 2014.

The mission of CAS is bringing together scholars from diverse disciplines and backgrounds, encouraging and rewarding excellence in all areas of academic inquiry. Faculty members with winning proposals are appointed as associates and awarded one semester of release time to pursue their projects.

Dr. Lopez-Ortiz, who received her Ph.D. in 2001 in kinesiology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, will use her time to work on her proposed project, Force Feedback of Low Dimensions in Virtual Reality for Movement Rehabilitation and Characterization in Cerebral Palsy.

"It is an honor to be appointed as a Center for Advanced Study Fellow," Dr. Lopez-Ortiz said.

"I look forward to contributing to the CAS community by developing the mathematical framework for the classification of movement coordination in cerebral palsy using a dance and haptic virtual reality game."

Dr. Lopez-Ortiz's research focuses on how the human brain generates dexterity in motor coordination using the language of dance movement to inform the design of dance/movement training protocols in health, disease, and disability through the life span. Her research is intrinsically interdisciplinary.

CAS supports faculty research by awarding, on a competitive basis, research appointments providing one-semester release-time to outstanding junior and senior colleagues pursuing innovative and path-breaking research, writing and performance projects.

CAS Professors are permanent members of the Center, appointed after a rigorous nomination and election process. These distinguished academics include among others: a Nobel Laureate; a National Book Award winner; a MacArthur Fellow; and a Pulitzer Prize winner, along with many members of the National Academies of Sciences and Engineering.